News Releases‎ > ‎

Canadian County Democrats Select Annual Award Winners Aug 27 at BBQ Supper

posted Aug 29, 2011, 11:25 PM by Jody Harlan   [ updated Oct 29, 2015, 9:37 PM ]
EL RENO, Okla. – Democrats from all over the state were in El Reno on Aug 27 to congratulate Jerry Edwards, from Yukon, who earned 2011 Canadian County Democrat of the Year honors at the sixth annual BBQ Supper at Redlands Community College Conference Center in El Reno.

Canadian County Democratic Party Chair Jody Harlan recognized Edwards for a lifetime of service, calling her, "A person who won’t give up – won’t give out – and won’t stop fighting for everything we believe in."

Terry Thompson from Logan Country and her daughter Jenny Thompson from Oklahoma County earned 2011 Honorary Canadian County Democrats of the Year awards for being "the kind of leaders who help us before we even ask for help."

A popular musical group from Kingfisher, the Lost in Sin Singers, joined the Canadian County Democrats’ Bean Supper Band to entertain guests while they ate the BBQ supper and bid on silent auction items.

After dinner, four speakers shared the platform: Democratic Leader Rep. Scott Inman from Del City, Oklahoma Democratic Party Chair Wallace Collins from Norman, Candidate for U.S. Congress in the 5District Tom Guild from Edmond and Jenny Thompson from Edmond. 

BBQ Supper sponsors were Rodn

ey Boegel, Susan McCann and Miguel Medrano from Change Oklahoma, Dean Rinehart and the UAW.

Other key supporters included: Tim Wagner from Cocina De Mino Mexican RestaurantJs, the printed program designer Sarah Fraker, Worth and Paul Lambert, and Carolyn Dalbow from the Kingfisher County Democrats, and the officers for the Third District Democrats, Chair Mack Miller, Vice Chair Debi Thompson and Secretary Juanita King.

The Canadian County Democrats meet at 7 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month (except Dec.) at Canadian Valley Tech Center, 6505 E. Highway 66 between Yukon and El Reno. For more information, phone (405) 354-3189.