News Releases‎ > ‎

Canadian County Democrats elect county officers, district and state delegates

posted Apr 1, 2017, 9:53 PM by Jody Harlan

CANADIAN COUNTY, Okla. – On March 30, the Canadian County Democrats elected three county-level officers and twelve delegates, all of whom will represent the county at upcoming congressional district and state conventions. 

Secretary Shirley Burton was elected to her fourth term in that leadership position.
Dennis Purifoy was elected to his first term as vice chair. Jody Harlan was re-elected to an eighth term as chair. All the officers are from Yukon.

Delegates were elected for two Congressional Districts located in Canadian County. Mustang is located in the southeast corner of Canadian County in Congressional District 4, while the rest of the county is in District 3.

Ten delegates were elected to represent the Canadian County Democrats at the Democratic Party’s Third Congressional District meeting on April 22: Kaylynn Cargill, O.A. Cargill, Paul Compton, Trey Gourley, Collier Hammons, Laurie Hammons, Karalee Hathaway, Annie Menz, Tim O’Connor and Linda Patton.

The delegates elected as alternates to the third Congressional district meeting are: Joel Baker, Chantelle Cory, Maria Erbar, Fenton Ramey, Dee Ross, Denise Wall and Quincie Whittington.

Gourley is from El Reno. Menz and Wall are from Union City. The remaining delegates are Yukon residents.

The Third Congressional District convention will be held on April 22 at Canadian Valley Technology Center at 6505 E. Highway 66 in El Reno. Committees meet at 8 a.m. The convention begins at 10 a.m.

Mary Rangel-Mattox was elected to serve at the Democratic Party’s Fourth Congressional District meeting. Shirley Robertson was elected as alternate delegate. Both women are from Mustang. The Canadian County Democrats are seeking one male delegate to fill a vacancy.

The Fourth Congressional District convention will meet on April 22 at 1725 N. Commerce in Ardmore. Registration is at 9 a.m.. The convention opens at 10 a.m.

The three officers and 12 delegates will represent the Canadian County Democrats at the Oklahoma Democratic Party’s 2017 State Convention on May 20 at the Tower Hotel, 3233 NW Expressway in Oklahoma City.

The Canadian County Convention delegates approved four resolutions, which were forwarded for consideration at the district and state levels.

The Canadian County Democrats meet at 7 p.m. on the second Monday of each month (except Dec.) at the Yukon Police Department, 100 S. Ranchwood Boulevard. Kendra Horn from Sally’s List will be the speaker at the next meeting on Monday, April 10.

Fore more information, call 405-354-3189 or email