Action Central‎ > ‎News Roundup‎ > ‎

County Democrats elect county officers, delegates to district and state conventions

posted Mar 10, 2011, 11:19 PM by Jody Harlan

The Canadian County Democrats recently elected the top three officers for their county-level organization and eleven delegates, all of whom will represent the county at upcoming congressional district and state conventions. 

Jody Harlan from Yukon was reelected to a fifth term as chair. Vice Chair Rodney Boegel from El Reno was reelected to his second term. Secretary Shirley Burton from Yukon was elected to her first term in that leadership position.

The southeast corner of Canadian County falls in Congressional District 4, while the rest of the county is in District 3.

Three delegates were elected to serve at the Democratic Party’s fourth congressional district meeting: Leon Pivinski, Shirley Robertson and Russell Trotter, all from Mustang. Alberta Reeves from Yukon was elected as an alternate delegate.

The Fourth Congressional District Convention will meet at Great Plains Technology Center in Lawton.

Eight delegates were elected to represent the Canadian County Democrats at the Democratic Party’s third congressional district meetings on April 30: J. P. Hemminger, Tom Lucas, Tim O’Connor, Candace Richerson, Carol Ruth and Virginia Simms, all from Yukon; and Mike Fuller and Sheryl Fuller from Piedmont. Mike Bounds, Becky Burditt, Richard Ruth, and Anna Belle Wiedemann, all from Yukon, and James “Randy Shumate from Piedmont were elected as alternate delegates.

The Third Congressional District Convention will be at Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford.

The officers and 11 delegates will represent the Canadian County Democrats at the Oklahoma Democratic Party’s 2011 State Convention May 12 at the Bricktown Hotel and Convention Center in Oklahoma City.